Assam Northeast

Assam Assembly polls: BJP expels 7 more leaders for contesting as Independent

The Assam BJP on Sunday expelled seven more leaders from the party for six years for contesting as Independent candidates by going against the party after being denied tickets.

On Sunday, BJP state president Ranjeet Kumar Dass has expelled the seven leaders for six years with immediate effect for contesting as independents against the party’s nominated candidates a statement said.

BJP had earlier this month expelled 15 leaders, including former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul, from the party for six years for filing nominations as Independents after being denied party ticket.

Many sitting BJP MLA’s were denied tickets this time by BJP top brass for their performance. The leaders have decided to contest the upcoming polls as Independent candidates.

Another sitting legislator Shiladitya Dev had resigned from the party earlier this month after being denied tickets to contest the Assembly polls.

The ruling party had this time also denied party tickets to 10 sitting legislators and Minister Sum Ronghang, who later joined the Congress, and was made its candidate from the Diphu constituency.

Of Assam’s 126 seats, the BJP is contesting 92 seats, giving 26 seats to its old ally Asom Gana Parishad and 8 seats to new partner United People’s Party Liberal.

The first phase of polls was held on Saturday in 47 seats while on April 1 (39 seats) and April 6 (40 seats) the remaining phases would be held. The results will be declared on May 2.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment