Assam Northeast

Assam Assembly polls: Dibrugarh MLA Prasanta Phukan files nomination for the fourth time

Heavyweight BJP candidate and three-time Dibrugarh MLA Prasanta Phukan filed nomination papers for the fourth time from Dibrugarh constituency on Monday.

Phukan was accompanied by Along his large number of supporters who came from his party office to file the nomination.

Talking to media persons, Dibrugarh MLA Prasanta Phukan said, “I am contesting from Dibrugarh seat since 2006. If I have been good watchmen of Dibrugarh then people will again vote me to power. I am sure that with a huge margin I will retain the Dibrugarh seat for the fourth time,”.

Dibrugarh seat is a strong bastion of BJP since 2006, earlier it was dominated by Congress since Independence.

“If you think that, I didn’t work for Dibrugarh in the last 15 years, then I appeal to the voters not vote for me and if I worked for Dibrugarh then vote in my favour. I have a good relationship with everyone in Dibrugarh and the people of Dibrugarh have showered love for me in the last 15 years,” he said.

“When I was elected as the MLA of Dibrugarh for the first time in 2006, I had to start from the beginning because the previous legislator of Dibrugarh had done nothing for Dibrugarh. Today, 99 percent of Dibrugarh roads have been constructed and 70 percent of the drainage work has been completed. In the coming days, we will complete the rest of the work,” Phukan stated.

Phukan, who is aiming to win the Dibrugarh seat for the fourth time, created history in 2006 when, defying all odds, he became the first BJP candidate to win Dibrugarh, a Congress bastion since Independence.

Riding on a strong anti-incumbency wave, he defeated sitting Congress MLA Kalyan Kumar Gogoi by just 179 votes in 2006. Phukan polled 28,428 votes against his rival’s 28,249.

In 2016, Prasanta Phukan defeated Congress candidate Chandrakanta Baruah with a margin of 27,374 votes.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment