Assam Northeast

Assam CM meets representatives of six communities over ST demand

Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, on Friday, met representatives of the six “angry and disgruntled” communities of the state over the ST demand issue.

Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma met representatives of Adivasi, Chutia, Koch Rajbongshi, Matak, Moran, and Tai Ahom communities concerning their demand for ST status.

Assam ministers Pijush Hazarika, Ranoj Pegu, and Sanjoy Kishan were also present during the crucial meeting.

During the meeting, Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma assured the representatives of the six communities to look into their demands.

Notably, the six indigenous communities in Assam – Tai Ahoms, Morans, Mottocks, Chutias, Koch-Rajbongshis, and Adivasis – were recently ‘ignored’ by the BJP-led central government and were ‘denied’ ST status, while several other communities in the country were granted the same.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment