Assam Northeast

Assam CM meets students’ bodies on method of evaluation of cancelled HSLC and HS exams

Assam Chief Minister Dr. Himanata Biswa Sarma held a meeting with the
representatives of All Assam Students’ Union (AASU), All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU) and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) to discuss the alternative method of evaluation necessitated by the cancellation of HSLC and HS exams for 2021 due to COVID-19 pandemic situation.

The meeting held at Janata Bhawan was also attended by Education
Minister Dr. Ranuj Pegu, Finance Minister Ajanta Neog and Handloom and Textiles Minister UG Brahma.

After detailed discussion, a consensus was reached regarding the alternative evaluation method.

As per the decision taken, clause 5 of the government notification issued regarding the alternative evaluation formula based on the expert committee report would be removed.
Further, the certificates and mark sheets provided under the formula would be valid in applying for higher education and jobs etc.

However, the meeting also decided that an equivalent exam may be held for teachers’ recruitment in schools and colleges if deemed necessary. This will be applicable to all students of SEBA, AHSEC and other boards and education councils.

Moreover, it was also decided that there would be no rank holder system in HSLC and HS exams under the new formula and only distinction and star marks would be given.

The Chief Minister further directed to hold class IX examination under SEBA from now onwards. The exam to be conducted by the District Education Council will have a similar question paper for all schools of the district.

He also directed to ensure availability of data of exam results and students appearing the examination with the SEBA.

While taking part in the discussion, representatives of AASU, ABSU and AJYCP thanked the Chief Minister for his step to find out a solution on a crucial issue relating to students’ future.

Chief Advisor of AASU Dr. Samujjal Kumar Bhattacharjya, Adviser Prakash Das, President Dipanka Kumar Nath, General Secretary Shankarjyoti Baruah, President of ABSU Dipen Bodo, AJYCP President Rana Pratap Baruah and General Secretary Palash Changmai took part in the meeting among others.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment