Assam Northeast

Assam CM visits Namrup Thermal Power Station in Dibrugarh

Assam Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma on Saturday visited the power generation campus of Namrup Thermal Power Station (NTPS) in Dibrugarh district which is South East Asia’s first gas-based power station and held a meeting with the officials of the Power Department and management of the NTPS.

During the meeting, Chief Minister Dr. Sarma discussed several aspects to lend empowerment to NTPS by strengthening its infrastructure and resultant electricity generation capacity.

During the meeting, the Chief Minister also took stock of the status of Namrup 100 MW Combined Cycle Replacement Power Project (Phase-I) which is under trial run. He also discussed in detail the power generation capacity in NTPS in general and its proposed expansion projects. He also reviewed preparedness for the Namrup Replacement Power Project (Phase-II).

Managing Director, Assam Power Generation Company Limited Kalyani Baruah also gave a powerpoint presentation highlighting different projects of the company to augment the power generation capacity of the state.

Union Minister of State for Food Processing Industries Rameswar Teli, Power Minister Bimal Bora, Agriculture Minister Atul Bora, MLAs Teros Gowala and Taranga Gogoi, Principal Secretary Power Neeraj Verma and other senior officers of the Power Department and functionaries of NTPS were present during the visit of the Chief Minister.

Later Chief Minister Dr. Sarma visited the campus of Assam Petrochemicals Limited (APL) at Namrup in Dibrugarh district, held a meeting with the officials of APL and reviewed the progress of ongoing projects and future expansion plans of the PSU.

APL is a state government PSU and has recently completed 50 years of its foundation.

During the visit, the Chief Minister inspected the 500 TPD Methanol project being implemented at its campus.

APL Chairman Bikul Chandra Deka, Vice Chairman of Assam Housing Board Subhas Dutta, Principal Secretary of Industries & Commerce KK Dwivedi and DC and SP of Dibrugarh district were also present in the meeting.

About the author

News Move Bureau

Leave a Comment