Assam Northeast

Assam issues SOPs segregating districts based on COVID-19 positivity

In a bid to control the COVID-19 transmission in Assam, the state government had on Saturday divided the districts in three categories based on their positivity rate.

While four districts have been identified to be highly positive, 20 have moderate positivity and ten have been marked as improving districts.

Morigaon, Biswanath, Goalpara and Bokakhat sub-division under Golaghat District have shown high positivity rate while Kamrup(Metro), South Salmara, Majuli, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Udalguri, West Karbi Anglong, Dima Hasao, Charaideo and Hailakandi districts have been identified to be showing improvement.

The rest — Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, Nalbari, Baksa, Bajali subdivision in Kamrup, Durang, Sonitpur, Nagaon, Hojai, Golaghat & Sarupathar Sub Division, Jorhat, Sibasagar, Tinsukia, Lakhimpur, Dhemaji, Cachar, Karimganj, Karbi Anglong and Dibrugarh — have moderate positivity.

A media intimidation issued by the Assam Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) further said, “The curfew time for high positivity districts will be round the clock, 2 PM to 5 PM for the moderate positivity districts and 5 PM to 5 AM for districts showing improvement.”

Earlier, Assam Health Minister Keshab Mahanta had said that a 77 per cent presence of the Delta Variant, also predicted to be the possibile reason behind the third wave by many scientists, has been found in samples sent to the National Institute of Virology at Pune.

Mahanta further said that the state has released an updated standard operating procedure according to which, those government employees who have already taken one dose of COVID-19 vaccine can resume their duties and those people who have taken all the doses of vaccination will not need to take COVID tests for travel.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment