Assam Northeast

Assam: Lurinjyoti Gogoi resigns as AASU General Secretary, new office bearers’ name announced

Students’ leader Lurinjyoti Gogoi resigned as the General Secretary of the All Assam Students’ Union(AASU) during the 17th AASU general convention at Duliajan in Upper Assam’s Dibrugarh on Saturday.

Lurinjyoti Gogoi is all set to join the newly-formed regional political party, Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP), which has been backed by AASU and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad(AJYCP).

Talking to media, Lurinjyoti Gogoi said, “I need blessings from the people of Assam which showered love during CAA movement. I got everything from AASU, what I am today is because of AASU. I can do active politics by joining in any political party and become leader”.

Lurinjyoti got emotional and cried during his speech.

Gogoi, who became a face of the anti-CAA protests in Assam, announced his resignation from AASU after an emotional speech at the conference.

According to reports, Lurinjyoti Gogoi is likely to contest the Assembly election next year on an AJP ticket from the Duliajan constituency.

On the other hand, AASU President Dipankar Kumar Nath has been reelected as the President, while Shankarjyoti Baruah has been named as the new General Secretary of the students’ body.

However, AASU Chief adviser Samujjal Bhattacharyya will remain associated with the Students’ body on request.

The new office-bearers of the AASU were named at the 17th convention of the Students’ body that concluded on Saturday night.

Around 8,000 AASU delegates from across Assam have participated in the Duliajan conference.

About the author

News Move Bureau

Leave a Comment