Assam Northeast

Assam polls: BJP expels 15 leaders for contesting polls as Independent

BJP on Thursday expelled 15 leaders, including former speaker Dilip Kumar Paul, for contesting the upcoming election as Independent candidates.

The BJP high command has decided to expel these leaders from the party for six years for joining the Assembly elections and contesting as Independent candidates after being denied party tickets.

Assam BJP party chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass has approved the disciplinary action with immediate effect.

The list of 15 members includes Paul, party leader from Doomdooman, Lakshewar Moran, Gajendra Singh and Priyanka Baruah.
Paul resigned from the BJP after he was denied a ticket from Silchar seat. He is contesting as an independent from Silchar constituency.

Moran, who was attacked during an anti-CAA protest in Tinsukia is contesting as an independent candidate from the Doomdooma seat. Moran was the Tinsukia district president of BJP.

BJP is contesting for 92 seats out of total 126 Assembly seats. BJP has left the remaining to its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL).

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment