BJP question Mamata’s nomination from Bhabanipur, criminal cases pending in Assam

On Tuesday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registered a complaint with the Election Commission, alleging that West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee had not disclosed the pending criminal cases against her in her nomination papers for the upcoming Bhabanipur by-poll.

Sajal Ghosh, chief election agent of Bhabanipur BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal said at least five criminal proceedings are pending against the TMC chief in Assam.

“I beg to object to the nomination/ declaration filed by Mamata Banerjee….on the ground that the candidate has failed to disclose particulars of the pending criminal proceedings against her,” Ghosh said in his letter.

The letter stated that five cases against the Bengal chief minister were pending at Geeta Nagar, Pan Bazaar, Jagiroad, North Lakhimpur, and Udharbond police stations of Assam.

“The BJP doesn’t have any shame. They had raised the same allegations earlier too. The EC didn’t find anything. The BJP knows that if it is going to lose and hence, raising some baseless allegations to malign Banerjee. Only those cases are mentioned in the affidavit in which the person has been charge-sheeted,” a TMC leader said.

A similar complaint with the poll panel was filed by Banerjee’s former protege and now BJP leader, Suvendu Adhikari, during the April assembly elections. In a letter to the returning officer of Nandigram, the TMC turncoat alleged that the chief minister did not declare the cases by Assam Police and Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) in her nomination papers.

The by-election for the Bhabanipur Assembly seat is scheduled to be held on September 30.

Banerjee, a resident of Bhabanipur, had won the seat twice in 2011 and 2016 but shifted to Nandigram, where the anti-farmland acquisition movement against the Left Front government had transformed her into a major political force in the volatile state. 2021 elections saw her dare Suvendu Adhikari on his home turf.

Banerjee, who had contested from the Nandigram seat this year Assembly polls, but was defeated by Suvendu Adhikari.
The by-poll for the prestigious Bhabanipur seat was necessitated after the resignation of AITMC MLA Sovandeb Chattopadhyay. Chattopadhyay resigned from the seat to make way for his leader Mamata Banerjee to contest.
Mamata Banerjee has to win the by-poll to become a member of the assembly in order to continue in the chair of the CM. She had taken oath on May 5 and must get elected within six months as per protocols.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment