Manipur Northeast

Manipur: Political rivals battle it out on the high court after Assembly polls

Many political rivals in Manipur are now fighting against each other in the high court by filing election petitions after the conclusion of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly elections.

A total of 15 petitions were filed by rival candidates against ministers and MLAs, challenging the results of their victory in the assembly elections held in February-March.

With this, 36 election petitions involving 17 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs, including two ministers, are pending in the court.
The latest 15 petitions admitted by the court include 10 against BJP MLAs and one each against Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA) and Janata Dal (United) MLAs.
The 10 BJP legislators are Paonam Brojen, Karam Shyam, Kh Ibomcha, Th Shyamkumar, L Rameshwar, Kebi Devi, S Premchandra Singh, SS Olish, and minister Govindas Konthoujam and minister Th Biswajit.
The KPA MLA is Chinlunthang Zou and the JD (U) MLA is Y Joykishan Singh. Some candidates are facing more than one petition challenging their victory.
Almost all the petitions were filed challenging improper filing of nomination forms and non-disclosure of education qualifications and non-disclosure of assets and corrupt practices.
Among the petitions, two filed by Y Surchandra against Mayenglanbam Rameshwar and Seram Neken against Thongam Biswajit were for non-disclosure of criminal cases.

In connection with the election petitions, minister Govindas Konthoujam of the Bishenpur constituency said that as enshrined in the Indian Constitution, the people have been given the power to elect their representatives. “Those who failed to get the mandate of people goes to court out of frustration.”

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment