Northeast Tripura

Tripura: 85.74 % voter turnout in TTASDC elections, oppositions call foul play

Tripura recorded a voter turnout of 85.74 percent in the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) elections, which concluded on Tuesday.

Officials of state election commission said the voter turnout will slightly increase after counting postal ballots.

A total of 8,65,041 voters cast their votes in the TTAADC elections this time.

The TTAADC elections were held in 28 autonomous district council (ADC) constituencies in Tripura on Tuesday.

According to the state election commission, more than 80 per cent of the votes were cast in 25 of the 28 ADC constituency.

According to the state election commission, the Shilachhari-Manubankul constituency in South Tripura recorded the highest voter turnout at 90.32 per cent.

In South Tripura’s Muhuripur-Bhuratali constituency, the turnout was 90.27 per cent.

The lowest turnout was in Damchhara Jampui constituency in North Tripura at 76.64 per cent.

The opposition political parties have alleged that the ruling BJP party resorted to malpractices during the polls.

The CPI(M) has demanded re-polling in 65 polling booths of 11 ADC constituencies.

Tripura Congress president Pijush Biswas said the party would take a decision after receiving all the reports and acknowledged the rigging of votes having taken place during the TTAADC polls.

The TTAADC consists of two third of Tripura and is often considered semi final to the Assembly elections.

This elections saw the emergence of royal scion Pradyot Manikya Kishore Deb Barman in the Council elections with his party, The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA), a conglomerate of indigenous groups.

TIPRA is set to garner a lot of votes from The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), the regional ally to BJP.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment