Assam Northeast

Veteran leader Phani Bhushan Choudhury’s legacy continues

Western Assam’s nerve centre Bangaigaon have chosen for the eighth consecutive time, Phani Bhushan Choudhury representing Asom Gana Parishad making him the longest serving legislator in the Assam Assembly the results of which were declared on May 2.

69-year-old Choudhury had begun his political career from Bongaigaon in 1985, when the AGP was born out of the culmination of the six years long Assam agitation with the signing of the Assam Accord.

Choudhury beat the Congress’s Sankar Prasad Ray by over 38 thousand votes which is even higher than last term’s margin.

Choudhury had beat Rai in 2016 last term too by a whopping 31 thousand votes’ margin.

Choudhury had been part of the AGP formed government twice alongside Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, the two term AGP Chief Minister had been voted even when the party was ousted from power.

Mahanta, who also had served as long as Choudhury did, however, missed out of this year’s elections while Jitu Goswami of BJP secured his constituency Barhampur in Nagaon of central Assam.

After the AGP forged alliance with the BJP to come in power in 2016, Choudhury was allotted the food and civil supplies portfolio in the Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal-led cabinet.

About the author

Team News Move

Leave a Comment